Ubuntu “Wastebasket” vs “Deleted Items folder”

Ubuntu "Wastebasket" ?
Ubuntu "Wastebasket" ?

At work, I’m very lucky that I don’t have to use Windows, except for testing sites on Internet Explorer. I use Ubuntu 10.04 LTS – the Lucid Lynx, and I’m very happy. I hear my co-workers swearing about glitches in Windows very frequently (although to be fair, it’s just as often that Dreamweaver is the source of frustration) and I just keep typing, protected by an invisible cloud of smug satisfaction. (My substitute for Dreamweaver is Kate, the text editor. I don’t like it quite as much as Smultron, my editor of choice on the Mac, but it works well enough.)

I love Ubuntu. I think it’s the most user-friendly GNU/Linux I’ve used, but there’s something that’s been bugging me for a while. It’s a little thing, and I think that’s why it bothers me so much. It wouldn’t take much to fix it.

See the attached screenshot. On the Macintosh, when you delete a file, it goes to the Trash. On Windows, when you delete a file, it goes to the Recycle Bin (or at least it does on the copy of Windows XP that I have running through VirtualBox). Where does a file go when you delete it in Ubuntu?

Does it go to the Wastebasket or does it go to the Deleted Items folder?

I know it’s nitpicky, but when I right-click on the Trash icon on the bottom right of my screen, in the contextual menu, it says “Open the Wastebasket,” and then immediately below that, it says “Empty the Deleted Items folder.”

Canonical! You were doing so well! What happened?

Published by

The Grey Literature

This is the personal blog of Benjamin Gregory Carlisle PhD. Queer; Academic; Queer academic. "I'm the research fairy, here to make your academic problems disappear!"

3 thoughts on “Ubuntu “Wastebasket” vs “Deleted Items folder””

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.